Join us for the next Sistah Scifi Graphic Novel Club followed by a Q&A with John Jennings April 24th!

Akata Witch: Book 1 The Akata Witch Series (Paperback)

Regular price $10.99

Watch our favorite #booktuber - Njeri Damali Sojourner of Onyx Pages -  review Akata Witch: https://youtu.be/6IpMrn6tncM

"Nnedi Okorafor writes glorious futures and fabulous fantasies. Her characters take your heart and squeeze it; her worlds open your mind to new things." -- Neil Gaiman, author of The Graveyard Book and American Gods 

Affectionately dubbed "the Nigerian Harry Potter," Akata Witch weaves together a heart-pounding tale of magic, mystery, and finding one's place in the world. Perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone! 


      Sunny Nwazue lives in Nigeria, but she was born in New York City. Her features are West African, but she's albino. She's a terrific athlete, but can't go out into the sun to play soccer. There seems to be no place where she fits in. And then she discovers something amazing—she is a "free agent" with latent magical power. And she has a lot of catching up to do. 
      Soon she's part of a quartet of magic students, studying the visible and invisible, learning to change reality. But as she’s finding her footing, Sunny and her friends are asked by the magical authorities to help track down a career criminal who knows magic, too. Will their training be enough to help them combat a threat whose powers greatly outnumber theirs? 
      World Fantasy Award-winning author Nnedi Okorafor blends magic and adventure to create a lush world. Her writing has been called “stunning” by The New York Times and her fans include Neil Gaiman, Rick Riordan, John Green, Ursula K. Le Guin, and many more! 

Raves for Nnedi Okorafor's writing: 

"There’s more imagination on a page of Nnedi Okorafor’s work than in whole volumes of ordinary fantasy epics." —Ursula K. Le Guin, award-winning author of A Wizard of Earthsea

“The most imaginative, gripping, enchanting fantasy novels I have ever read!” —Laurie Halse Anderson, National Book Award finalist and New York Times bestselling author of Speak

"I always loved science fiction, but I didn’t feel I was part of it—until I read first Octavia Butler, and now Nnedi Okorafor." —Whoopi Goldberg

"Highly original stuff, episode after amazing episode, full of color, life, and death. Nnedi Okorafor's work is wonderful!" —Diana Wynne Jones, award-winning author of The Chronicles of Chrestomanci

"Jam-packed with mythological wonders." —Rick Riordan, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series

"Okorafor's imagination is stunning." —The New York Times Book Review

Sistah Scifi Audiobooks

Open tab

Sistah Scifi Playlist on Libro.fm

Sistah Scifi has partnered with Libro.fm to bring you audiobooks. We have curated a list of nearly 30 titles. Check back often as this list will continue to grow! #readon

Customer Reviews

Based on 2 reviews
50%
(1)
50%
(1)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
N
N.G.
Magical adventure story, great for both young AND not-so-young adults

Absolutely ripping, finished it in two days and immediately ordered the sequel. My only complaint is that I need ALL the details of the marvelous setting. Not that the book is short on them or anything, but a feast of imagination flits by in the background of this story, and everything outside that world feels dull by comparison right now.

The characters feel perfectly genuine, except for the classic (and forgivable) genre exception of "I guess there's no time to force these strangers to explain these incredible developments, so I'll just go along with it." I also perceived a touch of the Mary Sue about the protagonist, but in this case I'm in favor of it. And, to my surprise and satisfaction, Nnedi Okorafor deftly dodges the vast majority of pitfalls that tend to plague the "yer a wizard, kiddo" theme. The core crew's varying relationships to their looming adolescence lends an enjoyable richness to their interactions, and I especially enjoyed the passing-without-comment displays of collective leadership and decision-making in action.

I'm expediting shipping on the next book and dropping this one off to a neighborhood eleven-year-old girl who will go bananas over it. Very excited to continue with this series and this author.

B
B.L.
Fascinating

When I have the time to sit 'n read, I can't seem to put it down. Also, it's a fast read for me. I'm going to order "Akata Warrior" soon.

Close (esc)

Popup

Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Search

Shopping Cart

Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now